New Year’s Resolutions

A New Year’s resolution is known to be a promise to do an act of self-improvement, to start doing something good or stop doing something bad on the first day of the year. According to the Urban dictionary (New Year’s resolution), it’s a goal that you propose then forget the next day.

photo-1432821596592-e2c18b78144f

Turns out, New Year’s resolutions are not something “new”. Their origin rests with the ancient Babylonians, who made promises to the gods in hopes they’d earn good favor in the coming year. They celebrated New Year not in January, but in March. That was more than 4 000 years ago. Why do people keep following this tradition so many years later?

A New Year’s resolution is a commitment to improve life in the coming year. For some it’s a promise, for me – it’s hope. Hope that I can do something better, hope that I am capable of changing something for good. It helps me stay positive, look for beauty and motivation, keeps me going forward and do something meaningful for me.

By the end of the year, I look at all the things I’ve done and have happened to me, and all the things I want to do and still haven’t accomplished. It’s quite interesting because sometimes you remember great moments that you have forgotten, but made you very happy. My 2015: amazing year! Spent New Year’s Eve in Budapest, Hungary; finished my master’s degree and had a graduation ceremony; found a job that I like; quit smoking; traveled as much as I could on trips and summer vacations (in Bulgaria, Romania, Croatia, Montenegro, Macedonia); went to a Greek island for a wedding where I was one of the bridesmaids (my sister wrote in her blog about it: 1,003 KM, 17H DRIVE, 8 PEOPLE , 60 SANDWICHES – ZAKYNTHOS,GREECE)… It was definitely a diverse year! Hope that yours was everything you wanted. Now it’s time for setting new goals for 2016, or – New Year’s Resolutions. 🙂

Let me wish everyone that 2016 is filled with joy and happiness and may each new day bring moments to cherish. Be strong, be brave, love the world and follow your dreams! And here’s a great idea that I stumbled upon:

NewYear2016

I found it on “Power of Positivity” – facebook page. I started it 2 weeks ago and can’t wait to see the result by the end of the year.

Finally, my New Year’s resolutions: go on more adventures, learn new things, find my balance, create good energy, connect with people, grow.

What are your New Year’s resolutions? 🙂


Photos: By Pexels

One thought on “New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Pingback: 2016 – „A Thank you Letter“ | Aleksandra Georgieva

Leave a Reply

